News RSS

Auckland's New Justices of the Peace

Ric Carlyon - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Auckland has 12 new Justices of the Peace, a group recently sworn in at the Auckland District Court by Judge Philip Recordon, accompanied on the bench by the Association’s President, Mr Colin Davis J.P.
The new Justices of the Peace are Inderjeet Bajwa of Dannemora, Jannette Brown of Shamrock Park, Des Dunlop of East Tamaki, Fiona Fenwick of Dairy Flat, Penelope Henning of Somerville, Judith Hounsell of Ormiston, Virginia Lesoa of Favona, William Peace of Mangere East, Leiola Pelesikoti of Otara, Sara Reid of Cockle Bay, Michael Sommerville of Beachlands and Norman Stacey of Glen Innes.
Thirty-three friends and family members of the 12 appointees also attended, along with the Association’s Representative to the Royal Federation, Mrs Wallis Walker J.P. and the Association’s Registrar, Roger Brookes, J.P.

Following the ceremony and before refreshments were served each appointee was presented with a Swearing In pack containing a signed Royal Federation Justice of the Peace certificate, a Royal Federation Justice of the Peace badge, a Justice of the Peace gate plate,  a Justice of the Peace identifier stamp and  a letter from the Association containing key information for new Justices of the Peace.
Part of the letter directs the appointee to their local Justices of the Peace support group where they will be assigned a mentor who'll arrange the appointee’s rostering at a service desk where, over several sessions, the first eight hours of providing services to the public will be with an experienced member of the Association.
In this way the Association helps the new Justice of the Peace achieve its “Active and Trained” initiative before being listed in the “Find a JP” website directory.

200th Anniversary: 15 New JP's Sworn In

Ric Carlyon - Tuesday, December 02, 2014

15 new Justices of the Peace have been sworn-in during a special sitting of the District Court,Judge Philip Recordon presiding. Family members and friends also attended. 

Wallis Walker represented the Royal Federation, accompanied by Teresa Bullock, J.P./Magistrate from the UK who is currently visiting Auckland. Teresa has been here previously so is familiar with the J.P. set-up in New Zealand… she has spoken at an Auckland J.P.s’ Association Council meeting and has observed several of our courts in session.
During yesterday’s ceremony Teresa accepted Judge Recordon’s invitation to address the court and comment on how the UK’s system differs from ours.

Both the Judge and the President of the Auckland JPs’ Association, Colin Davis, in their addreses from the Bench, referred to the historical significance of the date the 15 were formally appointed, 12th November 2014, exactly 200 years since New Zealand’s first JP, Thomas Kendall, took office. 

The 15 new J.P.s are Mrs Claire Ashcroft, Te Atatu South: Dr Adrian Blaser, Massey: Dr Wendell Dunn, Takapuna:
Ms Maria Faitua, Otahuhu: Mr Don Graham, Orakei: Mr Graham King, Henderson: Mr Afa Manoa, Favona: Mr Ralph Martin, Kaukapakapa: Mr Kevin Myers, Albany: Mrs Satya Prasad, East Tamaki: Cdr Frank Rands, Orewa: Mrs Ana Solia, Ormiston.

12 more Auckland J.P.s were appointed on the historic date, 12th November, and will be sworn in at a later date.

Auckland’s Latest J.P.s

Ric Carlyon - Tuesday, September 02, 2014

Six JPs have been sworn in at a special sitting of Auckland District Court. They reside across a wide area of Auckland, from Arkles Bay in Mahurangi to Clendon in the south. 

They are Susan Hilda Cato-Symonds of Grey Lynn, Leah Nadine Davey: Takapuna, Jonathan Marshall: Arkles Bay, Sasidharan Nambissan: East Tamaki Heights, James Vaughan Savage: Clendon Park and Va’afusu’aga Tauafiafi     Falemalama Lutoi Tafililupetiamalie from Massey.

Fellow J.P.s welcome these six members as they embark on their journey of mentoring and service in their community.  

New J.P.s Sworn

Ric Carlyon - Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Greater Auckland has 10 new Justices of the Peace, sworn yesterday in the Auckland District Court.
They come from suburbs well-spread across the Association’s territory.

They are - Barbara Blair from Chatswood: Abhai Dass, Meadowbank:  Andrew Dunlop, Schnapper Rock,  Ausaga Imoa, Otara: Richard Leigh, Gulf Harbour: Bernie Matthews, Manurewa: Priya Pratap, Dannemora: Gurvinder Shergill, Red Beach: Tafili Utumapu-McBride, Devonport and Pat Wijayaratne, Totara Heights.

Welcome to the ranks of the J.P.s as we celebrate 200 years of continuous service to the community!

Each new J.P. will associate with the nearest Support Group to build confidence, enabling them to efficiently carry out their numerous duties in the community.     

Kit for New JPs

Ric Carlyon - Sunday, April 20, 2014

To complete the training and orientation programme for new JPs the Registrar, Roger Brookes, has put together a “Welcome to…” kit. As well as congratulating newly-sworn JPs, the documentation points out expectations of them in their service to the community and suggests they join their local Support Group. This, the Registrar says, will put them in contact with a mentor to further familiarise duties and gain confidence. “This is part of the Association’s mission to have every JP trained and active,” says President, Colin Davis, “so it’s important to encourage new JPs, particularly, to undertake a full range of duties. The document also outlines further opportunities for refresher training and where JPs can seek further support, as required”.

3 Newly Sworn JPs

Ric Carlyon - Tuesday, April 01, 2014

Meet New Zealand’s most recently sworn Justices of the Peace!
They’re Ian Gardiner (Sandringham), Rama Isaia (Mangere Bridge) and Barbara Larsen (Warkworth).    
Yesterday they took the Oath of Office before Judge Philip Recordon in the Auckland District Court, in the presence of family, friends and representatives of the Association led by President, Colin Davis. Our Regional Representative at Royal Federation, Wallis Walker, also attended. Welcome Ian, Rama and Barbara!

Members' Login

Need Help?