News RSS

Auckland's New Justices of the Peace

Ric Carlyon - Wednesday, March 18, 2015

Auckland has 12 new Justices of the Peace, a group recently sworn in at the Auckland District Court by Judge Philip Recordon, accompanied on the bench by the Association’s President, Mr Colin Davis J.P.
The new Justices of the Peace are Inderjeet Bajwa of Dannemora, Jannette Brown of Shamrock Park, Des Dunlop of East Tamaki, Fiona Fenwick of Dairy Flat, Penelope Henning of Somerville, Judith Hounsell of Ormiston, Virginia Lesoa of Favona, William Peace of Mangere East, Leiola Pelesikoti of Otara, Sara Reid of Cockle Bay, Michael Sommerville of Beachlands and Norman Stacey of Glen Innes.
Thirty-three friends and family members of the 12 appointees also attended, along with the Association’s Representative to the Royal Federation, Mrs Wallis Walker J.P. and the Association’s Registrar, Roger Brookes, J.P.

Following the ceremony and before refreshments were served each appointee was presented with a Swearing In pack containing a signed Royal Federation Justice of the Peace certificate, a Royal Federation Justice of the Peace badge, a Justice of the Peace gate plate,  a Justice of the Peace identifier stamp and  a letter from the Association containing key information for new Justices of the Peace.
Part of the letter directs the appointee to their local Justices of the Peace support group where they will be assigned a mentor who'll arrange the appointee’s rostering at a service desk where, over several sessions, the first eight hours of providing services to the public will be with an experienced member of the Association.
In this way the Association helps the new Justice of the Peace achieve its “Active and Trained” initiative before being listed in the “Find a JP” website directory.

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Members' Login

Need Help?