News RSS

Association’s Annual General Meeting

Ric Carlyon - Monday, September 18, 2017

Auckland Justices of the Peace gathered for their Association’s Annual General Meeting yesterday, chaired by President, Selwyn Haworth.

+ Selwyn introduced the Association’s new Registrar, Janet Thompson

+ Selwyn, in his Annual Report, said he achieved improvements to financial reporting, he obtained donations from Trusts,  updated the membership database and reviewed the Support Group and Service Desk network.
+Treasurer Geoff Pownall reported a small surplus in a set of accounts which auditors had given an unqualified certificate. 

+A remit from Whau Support Group was agreed-to by the meeting which means there will be follow-up by a special committee of Council to consider changes to the Rules governing the lodging, processing and presentation of remits at the Annual General Meeting.

+Other Notices of Motion were not agreed-to. These involved proposed changes to training, a re-prioritisation of Council resources and effort, the need for individual Justices to make an annual return of their activities, and reimbursement of out-of-pocket expenses.

+ The composition of the new Council was announced:
Garry Nicholls
Sherryl Wilson 
Council Members
Selwyn Haworth (Past President), Hazel Bedogni, Roger Brookes, Ric Carlyon, Ow
en Goodwin, Tamati Howard, Neville Madden, Susan Walker and Wallis Walker

+ Retiring members of Council, Colin Davis, Dawn Jones and Les Smith, were thanked for their services and farewelled.

+Pat Samson was elected as Auckland Representative on the Board of the Royal Federation of New Zealand Justices Associations

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Members' Login

Need Help?