News RSS

8 New Justices of the Peace

Ric Carlyon - Monday, April 04, 2016

Former politician John Banks was back in the District Court at Auckland today… to be re-sworn as a Justice of the Peace. He resigned from office when he faced litigation alleging that he had filed false electoral returns. But having been cleared of all charges, he was one of 8 candidates in the District Court today to be sworn in as Justice of the Peace by District Court Judge, Her Honour Philippa Cunningham. She was accompanied on the bench by His Worship Selwyn Haworth, President of the Auckland Justice of the Peace Association.
The others sworn in were Jia Jia Chen of Blockhouse Bay; Wiebke Gailer of Campbells Bay; Maria Gomes of Central Business District; Charlene Mataio of Muriwai; Geoffery Polkinghorne of Mt Albert; Joga Singh of Otahuhu and Andrew Va’a from Favona.   
Today’s ceremony followed the trend of Justices of the Peace appointed lately - they are from a wide cross-section of the community, coming from varied callings and backgrounds - reflecting Auckland’s diverse population and the need to provide Justice of the Peace services across-the-board.  

Courtroom ceremony: L-R President Selwyn Haworth, Jia Jia Chen, Joga Singh, John Banks, 
Wiebke Gailer, Maria Gomes, Judge Philippa Cunningham, Geoffrey Polkinghorne, Charlene Mataio and Andrew Va'a

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Members' Login

Need Help?