News RSS

200th Anniversary: 15 New JP's Sworn In

Ric Carlyon - Tuesday, December 02, 2014

15 new Justices of the Peace have been sworn-in during a special sitting of the District Court,Judge Philip Recordon presiding. Family members and friends also attended. 

Wallis Walker represented the Royal Federation, accompanied by Teresa Bullock, J.P./Magistrate from the UK who is currently visiting Auckland. Teresa has been here previously so is familiar with the J.P. set-up in New Zealand… she has spoken at an Auckland J.P.s’ Association Council meeting and has observed several of our courts in session.
During yesterday’s ceremony Teresa accepted Judge Recordon’s invitation to address the court and comment on how the UK’s system differs from ours.

Both the Judge and the President of the Auckland JPs’ Association, Colin Davis, in their addreses from the Bench, referred to the historical significance of the date the 15 were formally appointed, 12th November 2014, exactly 200 years since New Zealand’s first JP, Thomas Kendall, took office. 

The 15 new J.P.s are Mrs Claire Ashcroft, Te Atatu South: Dr Adrian Blaser, Massey: Dr Wendell Dunn, Takapuna:
Ms Maria Faitua, Otahuhu: Mr Don Graham, Orakei: Mr Graham King, Henderson: Mr Afa Manoa, Favona: Mr Ralph Martin, Kaukapakapa: Mr Kevin Myers, Albany: Mrs Satya Prasad, East Tamaki: Cdr Frank Rands, Orewa: Mrs Ana Solia, Ormiston.

12 more Auckland J.P.s were appointed on the historic date, 12th November, and will be sworn in at a later date.

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Members' Login

Need Help?